Captain swap! (hypotheical discussion)

Shatner, Ent - D

I saw that image recently and it got me thinking, what if Kirk was in command of the D? A young Will Riker would have had a lot in common with a young Kirk, or perhaps would of they had a friendly rivalry? There's no denying they were popular with the ladies. How about Kirk and Beverly, would he have waited so long before admitting feelings for her like Picard did?

How about alien encounters? Would Kirk reacted differently than Picard when meeting the Borg?

Thoughts? Opinions? Other Captain/ship mashups? Perhaps Archer as Captain of Voyager?
4 Likes
Hmm... Not sure if Beverly would have gone for Kirk, he is very, very different from Picard. It's very difficult to swap Captains as Starfleet was in a different place in different eras. I have recently seen an episode where Kirk said, "I am a soldier, not a diplomat." I think that if he encountered the Borg during TNG time he would have probably responded with force, as he is not hesitant on self defence. That said he did encounter them at their infancy in the Motion Picture (if people adopt that interpretation of the movie).

Archer Captain of Voyager? Hm... Well, in what context? During the time frame of Voyager? There are a lot of choices he made in Enterprise where the Prime Directive would have come in handy, but one didn't exist, and according to the Prime Directive said choices could have been slightly questionable. I wonder if he would have meddled with the new species with the Prime Directive backing him. But the more I think about it, the more I think that he would have taken many of the decisions that Janeway took in the same position.
This is true! Beverly might not have gone for that roguish type. Since you mention the soldier/diplomat thing, it got me thinking that a young Riker and young Kirk would have probably gotten along but a late TNG Riker and young Kirk probably would have butted heads a lot.